The Procrastination is Real

I officially have two days of high school left. Seriously. I have fourteen hours and one march across the gym before I theoretically never have to see that place again. I’ve been doing a lot of reminiscing over the last couple of weeks. Not only have I been doing that, I’ve also been doing a helluva lot of procrastinating.

Yeah, senioritis finally got to me in the last week of school. Of course it had to be the week in which I have the most work I’ve ever had in my entire life to do. Not only do I have the usual homework load, I’m also finishing an ungodly long Intro to Teaching final, taking a Precalculus test that determines whether or not I graduate with honors, and I have to tie up all of the loose ends that I’ve managed to accumulate over the last six years I’ve spent at my school.

So, with all of this left to do, you would think that I would be home studying for finals, getting thank you notes together, finishing my Intro to Teaching portfolio, or even reading the Reading Counts book that I had nine weeks to finish, right?

Wrong.

Actually, I’ve been at the theater for the last several hours, enjoying a hysterical look into the magical world of Harry Potter. Yes, kids. My obsession with Harry Potter has proven, once and for all, to be more important than my school work. My mother even went so far as to tell me that if I were to go to the show, she would expect me to pull an all-nighter to finish up all of the junk that I have to accomplish within the next 14-plus-a-few hours.

So that’s what I’m doing now. It’s currently 11:00 at night and I am bracing for the longest night I’ve had since the English AP thesis of 2013. And as usual, instead of doing something productive, I’m on the internet complaining about the fact that I am about to do something productive. I’ll leave you with that, because now I really do actually have to finish the massive pile of work that is currently chilling beside me.

Sweet dreams. We can beat the senioritis, guys! Only a few more days before we’re home free!

2 thoughts on “The Procrastination is Real

Leave a comment