High School Friends vs. After High School Friends

Today I’ve also been thinking a lot about how I’m going to have to make a completely new bunch of friends when I go off to college. I mean, I never really had a ton of friends to begin with, but I’m going to be starting over from scratch nearly three hours away from home, where I know a total of one person and we only know each other through mutual connections.

In high school we chose our friends based on the clubs we joined and the classes we took. I only ever had a few friends and it was a safe bet that a solid 100% of them are in, had been, or were going to be in, marching band. That’s how it worked. I was the person spear-heading the attempt to get new members into marching band so obviously most of my friends were in it as well. I had done my time. Five years of it. Old friends graduated and new ones came in, but inevitably, all of them were band members. With the exception of, like, one chorus girl, but you get the idea.

Now, I’m going to have to go out in the world and actually… *cringe* … meet people. I’ll have to become friends with people, not by default because we’re in the same room with each other for five hours out of the day, but because we have common interests, know the same people, or – heaven forbid – frequent the same party spots. I’m assuming that’s how real friendships – you know, ones that aren’t as artificial as the ones you make in high school – are actually formed.

I’m realizing now that I don’t think I’ve ever made a friend who was just a friend because, like, ever. You know what I mean; someone who has similar interests, but also doesn’t believe in the exact stuff as you do and will put you in your place when you need a talking down to? I don’t know about you, but that’s what I think I would consider a real after-high-school-friend. And I don’t have any of those yet. That’s a scary concept.

Just food for thought. Who knows, maybe I’ll join a jazz band or an acapella group or something. At least that’ll give me a place to start. Maybe this is something that I shouldn’t worry about until I’m actually in college. Yeah, that would probably be a good life choice.

I’m going to log off now. There is a pile of study material that’s like six inches tall and it’s currently calling my name. Sweet dreams.

Leave a Reply

