My Truest Love (of YouTube)!

I’m sure by now you’ve figured out that I am a passionate fan of many things. I’m kind of a go-big-or-go-home type person, so obviously when I entered into the YouTube fandom, it was no exception!

The first YouTuber I ever came across who actually did it for a living was none other than Miss Tanya Burr. When I was probably about fifteen I went to her channel on the daily to get make-up tips and listen for the Audible pick of the week.

Soon after I started watching her videos though (like, literally within the day) I started realizing that she wasn’t the only one that did this stuff. So, I quickly began watching videos from other famous YouTubers – Alfie Deyes, Zoella, Caspar Lee, Joe Sugg, Marcus Butler, Jim Chapman, and I could probably list about twenty more, but that would definitely be an overwhelming list.

They were ultimately my inspirations in taking to the internet myself. I wanted to see if there were people out there who shared the same interests as me. So I started making videos of my own. Skits for class, book reviews, clips of me singing, daily vlogs, and collaborations were among the random mosh of things that managed to make their way up on my channel. I thought I was doing pretty well when about six months in I had fifteen followers. It wasn’t until several months ago, when my brother told me that my material was lacking (he’s also a YouTuber) that I decided to take my leave of that and start focusing on the written word (hence this blog and my Broadway blog, Yearbook of a Broadway Hopeful). Needless to say, words are far more generous than a camera, so this is better for me for now (though I plan to make my valiant return to vlogging this summer with my upcoming series about college and leaving home for the first time). Enough about me, though. This is supposed to be about the magnificence that is professional YouTubers.

Sometimes it’s easy to get wrapped up in watching one video after another of these hilarious people doing these hilarious things and before you know it you’ve been sat in front of your computer screen for nearly six hours, watching videos of outstandingly British gentlemen waxing their legs for kicks and giggles. This is totally natural. Just let it happen; you’ll be better off because of it.

Seriously, though. YouTube is a great place to go when you’re having a bad day. The people I mentioned before literally make their keep by producing feel-good videos about life in general. I know when I’m having a particularly crappy day, I quick peek at the shear adorableness that is Zalfie always makes me feel about a million times better.

Other than me just getting all feels-y about my favorite people, there was actually supposed to be a reason for this post. I just wanted to let you all know about something exciting that may be happening very soon.

Although nothing is confirmed or official in any sense of the terms yet, I am trying to get an interview with Jim Chapman for this blog. I have no idea how difficult the process is (or if there even is a standard process), but I’ve reached out to his agent as well as to him personally over the past couple of days and we will see if anything comes of it. If it did actually happen, that would easily be the coolest thing to happen in my life so far. Stay tuned for developments!

Have yourself a wonderful evening!

P.S. If you haven’t picked up a copy of Joey Graceffa’s In Real Life or Connor Franta’s A Work in Progress you should definitely do that. I bought them both a week ago and finished them both today. Those are two of the funniest, best-written memoirs I’ve ever read!

Leave a Reply

