My Life as the Party Animal

As a graduating high school senior, you would probably think that by now I know where they “good” parties are. Surely, after having lived in this area for my entire life, I would know which streets to wonder down for the Mary Jane and which areas of the state park to go to for the most alcohol. Unfortunately, in the four years, I have attended a grand total of five “parties” – three marching band bonfires, a Harry Potter themed birthday for one of my friends from marching band, and an end of the year party (for the sixth grade beginning band).

As you may or may not know, over the past two years, I’ve been a cadet teacher in elementary music. Basically, this means that when I’m needed as a musician in the band, I play in the band. When I’m needed to clean up, I clean up. And if I’m ever needed to teach a lesson I’m able to do that as well. It’s kind of like the “Lite” version of being an actual teacher, which was super great.

Since I’d been working with them for the whole year, I was invited to the elementary band’s end of the year party, where there was a showing of Big Hero 6 on the SmartBoard, card games galore, and a massive game of dodge ball. It was pretty much one of the most enjoyable things I’ve done all year.

One thing that this day taught me though is that free for all dodge ball with a bunch of twelve-year-olds hurts. They get competitive. They hit hard. And they run fast.

So in short, that was my evening. It was a blast. I’m going to miss all of those kids next year when I’m at college. They were definitely some of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

