Two Majors that I’m Scared Of

So, I don’t know if you all were told the same things that I was as a child, but when I was younger I was always told to go to college to do what I wanted. That’s why, at this point in my life I am majoring in music education and music therapy (ensuring that I will be vastly unemployable). It’s at this point during Fall Break, however, when I’ve started to wonder whether or not this really what I want to be doing for the rest of my life.

When I was in high school, I was able to teach Kindergarten through sixth grade music for two years and it was absolutely wonderful. They knew by name and I knew nearly all of them by name as well. We built up a rapport by the end of my senior year. They knew what I expected of them and I knew what to plan for on the bad days when they came through the door. It was a ball and a half and I was convinced that that was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. Nevertheless, I was interested to learn what there was to know about music therapy, so I entered college with a double major – music therapy and music education.

Music therapy seemed like a perfect fit for me because I was able to continue on with learning music while also helping people. As a four-year member of Key Club, helping people is something that I am genuinely impassioned about. However, I don’t think I’ll be able to stomach the idea of could end up working with people in hospice care – people who are actively dying. That is a concept that is just too grim for me to even imagine. Of course I want to offer what comfort I can to those who are in pain and actively dying, but I have to wonder what the affect will be on my psychological state after so many years of working in this field. Will I be able to handle it?

These questions and more swirl through my head as I prepare to head back to my university tomorrow morning. It’s not that I’m not happy with the school that I chose or the courses that I’m taking. I’m just worried that once I get out of college, I’ll discover that I’ve chosen the wrong things for myself. Have any of you ever felt this way? Leave your thoughts in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

