Life Isn’t About Who You Are. It’s About What You Do.

In talking to my roommate (who has an insistence that drama is necessary and a good party supersedes all other activities), I’ve realized that I’ve begun forming opinions about things. Weird, I know, but it’s something that, in all honesty, I hadn’t done much of before going off to college.

One thing I’ve noticed a lot of with my roommate is her intense need to decide on the spot whether she likes someone or not. It’s like the second she walked into her first class, she decided who was her “type” and who was not. I, on the other hand, have opted to be cordial and friendly to everyone, because (in a field as experimental as ours) it is necessary to make as many connections as possible.

Because you never know – that freaky scene girl who sat beside you in Intro to Therapy could one day become the leading researcher or department chair. Why would you burn that bridge if it could become so valuable later on?

My mantra over the past couple of weeks has been Life isn’t about who you are. It’s about what you do. In other words, don’t worry about what other people think of you; worry about what you’re contributing to the campus conversation. Do you have a valuable skill or personality trait? Do you perform your campus function to the best of your ability? How many connections do you have?

This is what I judge myself (and other) by. Not by how many or which parties we go to. Not by whether I like you or you like me. I judge on value.

Just my thoughts for the day.

Leave a Reply

