Let the Real Adult-ing Begin

As of this month, I’ve decided to embark upon the most simultaneously terrifying and adult-like thing I have done in my life up to this point. Admittedly, what I am about to do is completely foolish, but honestly, I’ve given up on caring. I must do what I want instead of what is smart for once.

Starting this month, I will be starting one job as well as two theatre pieces. I will also be moving into my first apartment…completely alone.

Who would’ve thought that at the age of twenty, I would be working an $9/hour job and living in my very own apartment? Look, I know lots of people are capable of doing it, but to me this is something that never quite seemed attainable. I don’t have any semblance of a credit score. I’ve never lived on my own in my entire life. And yet, there I’ll be…for a full four months….living in my own apartment, working my own job, and spending my nights at the theatre where I’ll be performing in Young Abe Lincoln and Oliver Twist.

Honestly, it never even dawned on me that this was something that was possible, until I was told that I had gotten a role in Young Abe. I quickly realized that it wasn’t going to make any sense at all for me to live in Evansville (one hour away from work and the theater) or Louisville (an hour and a half away from work and the theater). Since those are the only two places I’ve ever lived before, both on my parents’ dime, I had absolutely no idea where to begin when looking for an apartment. However, I’ve finally landed on a place, and I’m proud to say I’m going to be a renter in a building in lovely Dale, Indiana, starting next Monday.

Of course I’ve got to run all of this by my family first, because I don’t want to do this without their absolute blessing, but I can honestly say, I have never been more excited for anything in my entire life. I’m thrilled to get started with this next chapter in my life. I’m thrilled to be living on my own officially. And I am utter beside myself with joy over the fact that I will be starring in two shows this summer at the Lincoln Amphitheatre.

At the risk of sounding like too much of a Hoosier, I do have to say that I feel incredibly #blessed. I feel so lucky to be at this place in my life (and so early on) where I can afford to be out on my own, doing the thing that I love most, which is obviously theater. The apartment is only a small part of my success, but having a place of my own isn’t something I was planning on until way down the road after college and a couple of years of saving. Now I feel like I’ve simply expedited the process and I am very excited because of it.

So, I’ll keep you all updated in the coming weeks about how this semi-adult is doing at adult-ing. I’ll make a post when I’m officially moved in and, of course, keep you updated on my shows and how they are going. I hope to be back in Evansville in the Fall to continue my education, though it will certainly not be at the UE.

Many thanks to those of you who have been with me since the very beginning, since my senior year of high school, when the only thing I had to complain about was graduation and high school friends. It’s been a crazy two years since that time, but I am so glad that I’ve been updating throughout the entire process.

Sometimes I like to go through these posts for my own piece of mind and admire how much I’ve grown as a person over these past couple of years. It makes me chuckle to think how very close-minded I was even just a year ago.

Anyway, I’ll let you get back to whatever it is that you were doing. Thanks for hanging out and enjoying my rambling. As always, hit that subscribe button to stay up-to-date with the goings on in my almost-adult life.

Have a great day~

Leave a Reply

