Lamentations of a Fangirl

When I decide I enjoy learning about something, I go into this hardcore research mode, where I will be scouring the internet for tidbits of information on a subject while simultaneously reading a book on the same topic that I just picked up from the library and watching a 3-hour documentary, explaining how the thing changed the course of history. I don’t fangirl over normal things either. A lot of people will decide they like TV shows, books, or something of the like, and although I do have interest in those things, much of the time, I get caught up on weird, somewhat obscure parts of history and lore.

Most of the things I find immense interest in, you probably can’t even imagine someone actually wanting to sit down and learn about for hours on end. For example, some of my latest obsessions have been the Arthurian Legends, Bobby Kennedy, Violet the Musical, European Royalty, and Operation Hannibal on the cruise liner Wilhelm Gustloff.

That’s a pretty weird mash of stuff, right? At least I only stay interested in one thing for, like, a couple of weeks and then I move on. I do my research, I write some theories, and then I move on with life. That’s not to say though, that while I’m interested in something it’s not the only thing I’m thinking about. Because it totally is. I’m telling you, I become borderline obsessive real fast.

It gets to the point where my priorities become way out of whack. I remember when I went through my Arthurian Legend phase back in November, I didn’t leave the house for days at a time because I was researching and reading. I turned in every piece of homework I was given late for at least a solid two weeks. I actually missed my six-month anniversary dinner with my boyfriend so I could stay home and keep writing my symphony. Which was based on the story Le Morte D’Arthur.

I’m telling you, this is what happens every single time I acquire the faintest interest in something. And I’m assuming that it’s not really the healthiest habit to be in. I can’t help but think, though, that the next time Queen Victoria, Lancelot, or the former Attorney General come up in casual conversation (not that that’s ever going to happen), I’ll be able to school pretty much anyone.

Indeed, I’m not your normal fangirl who Tweets like mad over Orange is the New Black, or Glee, or whatever the kids are into these days. But based on the word’s definition in Mirriam-Webster Dictionary (n. a girl who is overly enthusiastic about someone or something), I definitely am one!

Leave a comment